Christmas Projects – Update 2

So, after my class in Crazy Quilting, I got the brilliant brainstorm to create CQ Altoid Tins for the “girls” in the family.  That includes my Mom, Sister, and 5 Nieces (all of my sister’s girls).  Which translates into 7 tins to get done before Christmas…along with all of the quilts.  Been a busy bee!  Anyways, without further ado, here they all were:

All 7 Crazy Quilt tins, plus 1 for me.

All 7 Crazy Quilt tins, plus 1 for me.

It really was a learning experience as I didn’t have a set of directions to follow. But I found the most difficult aspect was “decision paralysis”. Yep! Trying to decide which embroidery treatment to do.  After deciding which fabric choices to make.  Fortunately, I had be gathering lots of fabric and trims since September so I did have a variety to select from.  Here are some close ups of each tin.  Warning! I still have to learn how to take photos so some of the shots aren’t that great.

I already posted about the first tin I made.  But here it is again:

Tin #1. This is what started it all.

Tin #1. This is what started it all.

The second tin I made.

The second tin I made.

The third tin. And this is when I decided that I liked having the top of the tin padded with batting.

The third tin. And this is when I decided that I liked having the top of the tin padded with batting.

The fourth tin.

The fourth tin. I love the ribbon roses spray.

The fifth tin. Pink was too expected, so I started to interject some of the yellow that is barely discernible in the pink silk fabric.

The fifth tin. Pink was too expected, so I started to interject some of the yellow that is barely discernible in the pink silk fabric.

Tin number six. I had some lovely mother-of-pearl buttons so i wanted to showcase one of them.

Tin number six. I had some lovely mother-of-pearl buttons so i wanted to showcase one of them.

Tin number seven.  A touch of New Mexico here with the turquoise and silver.

Tin number seven. A touch of New Mexico here with the turquoise and silver.

The last tin--number 8. Unfortunately, the photo doesn't do it justice. The flower spray incorporates some very tiny beads that make it look like dew drops on the flowers.

The last tin–number 8. Unfortunately, the photo doesn’t do it justice. The flower spray incorporates some very tiny beads that make it look like dew drops on the flowers.

All in all, I did have a lot of fun working with these.  But trying to do a lot of them with a deadline made them wearying towards the end.  So I’ll save my further exploits into Crazy Quilting without any fixed dates in mind.  🙂

So when Christmas present un-wrapping time came, I places all of the tins on the cocktail table and made a Yankee Swap out of the affair. All the girls drew numbers out of bag and then in the order they picked, they selected which tin they wanted.  Good thing I didn’t choose for them.  Because some of them were not the ones I had in mind for that person.

Can you guess which one I came home with?

No way did I expect this one to be mine.  But I’m glad it is:

This one is Mine!  I now use it to hold all of my needle threaders.

This one is Mine! I now use it to hold all of my needle threaders.

