Betsy’s Closet stitch-a-long

So I’m reading a few of my favorite blogs the other night, and I ran across something that sounded cute — “Betsy’s Closet”.  I’m thinking its vintage clothing or something avant-garde.  But when I clicked on it, it was a blog for a stitch-a-long.

stitch-a-long – one or more people who get together virtually and share their adventure about the same stitching project they are working on.

And that, is what I stumbled across:  Betsy’s Closet in Stitches

I instantly fell in love with the project!  I ordered a kit from Brenda Riddle’s (aka the designer) website (Acorn Quilt and Gift Company).

This is the darling little quilt I fell in love with.

My kit arrived two days after ordering it online.  And here’s what I got:

Here are all the items you get in the kit. I didn’t expect, and was surprised that the floss came with it. And, some of it is Cosmo thread. So I’ll get a chance to try that too.

Now, all I have to do is start!  I cut the background fabric and started tracing the embroidery designs:

Here are the first 4 embroidery designs traced onto the background fabric.

I traced them using my light table. And started tracing the patterns using a mechanical pencil.  But I read that using a Micron .01 pen in Brown was another good option.  So I tried that too.  It definitely shows the pattern/design better (see upper-right block).  However, I’m also concerned that my embroidery had better be dead-on accurate or I won’t be able to hide the lines.  I also lined each piece with a good quality muslin (or calico).  I’ve never done that before and read it was a great technique for embroidered blocks in a quilt.

Everything is all set.  I just need some time to work on it!  (She didn’t provide that in the kit.  ha-ha)

