Vintage Sewing Box

Gotta love Craig’s List!

For a long time, I’ve been wanting those accordion style sewing boxes which hold a lot of sewing gadgets and supplies.  But they were out of my price range.  Well, I got lucky!

A wonderful woman in Milton, NH was selling her mother-in-laws’ box (she already had one and didn’t need two).  It took me about 1.5 hours to drive to her house to pick it up but it sure was worth it.  The day was sun-shiney, blue-blue sky with fluffy white clouds, there were wild-flowers next to the road in full blooming color.  Just an absolutely beautiful day to be driving.

I’m going to try and attach some photos:

Image

Image

There is a manufacturer’s label affixed on the inside which identifies this as a Norwegian product:  AS Stommen Bruk Hamar.  I have tried to get more info on the manufacturer, but I haven’t found anything definitive yet.  I’m afraid they might be out of business.

